Appendix 1

Overview and Scrutiny Committee Work Programme – 2024-25 (as at 4 November 2024)

Meeting	Agenda items	Comment
15 July 2024	Update on delivery of the Council's Climate Change Strategy and Action Plan for 2023/24	Lead member – Cllr Batteson Lead officer – Tony Ainge (Tom Sharland)
	Report on the decision to self-refer to the Regulator of Social Housing regarding the status of the Council's domestic electrical inspection condition reports	Lead member – Cllr King Lead officer – Hakeem Osinaike (Stuart Davis)
	Overview and Scrutiny Committee and Commission Work Programmes for 2024/25	Lead member – Cllr Wingfield Lead officer – Everton Roberts
4 November 2024	 Scrutiny Call-in – Gateway 1 Housing – Procurement Support and Supply Chain Management System 	Lead member – Cllr King Lead officer – Hakeem Osinaike
	 Consort Estate SE15, Major Works – Charges to Leaseholders [Reference by Councillor – OSC Procedure Rule 12] 	Lead member – Cllr King Lead officer – Hakeem Osinaike (Stuart Davis)
	 Financial Position: Budget Delivery and Future Strategy 	Lead member – Cllr Cryan Lead officer – Clive Palfreyman (Tim Jones)

Meeting	Agenda items	Comment
27 November 2024	 Customer Services (to be considered alongside Digital Systems and workflows, to also include digital inclusion and exclusion) 	Lead member – Cllr Cryan Lead officer – Clive Palfreyman (Dominic Cain)
	 Digital Systems and Workflows - CRM System for resident responses (including looking at how the council liaises with residents, and right contact first time (residents finding it difficult to contact the correct officer to deal with their issue) 	Lead member – Cllr Cryan Lead officer – Dionne Lowndes
	 Implementing mechanisms to enhance community participation in the scrutiny process. 	Lead member – Cllr Roberts / Cllr Wingfield Lead officer – Doreen Forrester-Brown (Everton Roberts)
	Local Community Infrastructure Levy Framework	Lead member – Cllr Dennis Lead officer – Clive Palfreyman (Neil Kirby) (Tbc, to be considered during statutory consultation period and therefore subject to timing)
	Scrutiny Improvement Review Implementation – Update	Lead member – Cllr Wingfield Lead officer (Doreen Forrester-Brown (Everton Roberts)
	Briefing on New Procurement Act	Lead member – Cllr Cryan Lead officer – Clive Palfreyman (Elaine McLester)

Meeting	Agenda items	Comment
8 January 2025	 Canada Estate /Devon Mansions Major Works Review report back 	Lead member – Cllr King Lead officer – Hakeem Osinaike (Stuart Davis)
	 Governance and Oversight of Housing Services 	Lead member – Cllr King Lead officer – Hakeem Osinaike
	 Cabinet/Senior Management Strategic Responsibility 	Lead member – Cllr Williams Lead officer – Althea Loderick
		(Tbc)
20 January 2025	Annual budget Scrutiny (daytime meeting)	Lead member – Cllr Cryan Lead officer – Clive Palfreyman
21 January 2025	Budget Scrutiny – Formulation of OSC recommendations to cabinet	
	Statement of Community Involvement / Development Consultation Charter	Lead member – Cllr Dennis Lead officer – Clive Palfreyman (Juliet Seymour)
		(Tbc, to be considered during the statutory consultation period and therefore subject to timing)
	 Southwark 2030 outcomes framework and annual action plan (or 12 February OSC) 	Lead member – Cllr Williams Lead officer – Althea Loderick (Rhona Cadenhead / Tricia Boahene)
		(Tbc)

Meeting	Agenda items	Comment
	Council Delivery Plan Update (or 12 February OSC)	Lead member – Cllr Williams Lead officer – Althea Loderick (Rhona Cadenhead / Tricia Boahene) (Tbc)
12 February 2025	Council Homes Disposal Policy	Lead member – Cllr Cryan
		Lead officer – Clive Palfreyman (Stephen Platts)
	Southwark New Homes Programme	Lead member – Cllr Dennis Lead officer – Hakeem Osinaike (Zoe Davies)
	Housing Associations	Lead member – Cllr King Lead officer – Hakeem Osinaike
		Confirmation required on whether this is still to be included in work programme in light of previous scrutiny work in relation to housing associations.
28 April 2025	Interview with Police Borough Commander	Lead member – Cllr Ennin Lead officer – Toni Ainge (Stephen Douglass Caroline Thwaites)
		Тbс
	Interview with Cabinet Member for Community Safety and Neighbourhoods	Tbc
	Further items to be determined	

OSC agenda items to be scheduled

Meeting (tbc)	Agenda items	Comment
	Annual Workforce Strategy	Lead member – Cllr Cryan Lead officer – Doreen Forrester-Brown (Ben Plant)
	Electrical Testing in Council Homes	Lead member – Cllr King Lead officer – Hakeem Osinaike
		Timing of report back to be established
	Asset Management Strategy	Lead member – Cllr King Lead officer – Hakeem Osinaike (Paul Wood)
		Requested at 30 July agenda planning meeting Scheduled for 4 February cabinet – appropriate time for this to come scrutiny to be established
	Climate Change Performance	Lead member – Cllr Batteson Lead officer – Toni Ainge (Tom Sharland)
		Standing item – frequency and information to be determined with cabinet member following discussion with OSC members.

 Process around bidding for government grants, including how the council approaches government grants and the council's success rate (to be looked at as part of the budget process – but as a standalone item) 	Lead member – Cllr Cryan Lead officer – Clive Palfreyman Note from Clive – to be built into future budget discussion
 Refresh of Southwark Stands Together and Southwark Equality Framework – Pre decision scrutiny 	Lead member – Cllr Cryan Lead officer – Ben Plant (Evereth Willis) Note: was due to be received at 4 November OSC. Item deferred, as further analysis required around Equality Framework data.
 Refresh of Procurement Framework to support Southwark 2030 	Lead member – Cllr Cryan Lead officer – Clive Palfreyman / Elaine McLester Note: scheduled for March 2025 cabinet
 Cabinet Member Interviews Cllr Kieron Williams, Leader of the Council Cllr Jasmine Ali, Children, Education & Refugees Cllr Evelyn Akoto, Health & Wellbeing Cllr John Batteson, Climate Emergency, Jobs & Business Cllr Stephanie Cryan, Equalities, Democracy & Finance 	To be determined (as and when appropriate).

Helen Dennis, New Homes & Sustainable Development	
Cllr Natasha Ennin, Community Safety & Neighbourhoods	
Cllr Sarah King, Council Homes	
James McAsh, Clean Air, Streets & Waste	
Cllr Portia Mwangangye, Leisure, Parks & Young People	
Cllr Sam Dalton, Supported Housing	
Cllr Emily Hickson, Green Finance	
Cllr Bethan Roberts, Resident Engagement	
Cllr Joseph Vambe, Neighbourhoods	